Histories: Trempealeau County Historical Accounts:
"History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917":
BIOGRAPHY - G SURNAMES
George Gale, jurist and pioneer, founder of Galesville, founder of Gale College, one of the framers of the Wisconsin constitution, and one of the organizers of Trempealeau County, was born on the banks of Lake Champlain, at Burlington, Vermont, Nov. 30, 1816. His grandfather, Peter Gale, was a native of Vermont, and served in the Continental army; his father, whose name was also Peter, was one of the "Minute Men" of Barre, Vermont, in the War of 1812; his mother, whose name was Hannah Tottingham, was of genuine Puritan stock. George Gale lived on a farm during his boyhood, and divided his time in working on a farm and attending school. His schooling was thorough, and although he was not a graduate of any college, he acquired an excellent knowledge of the higher branches of mathematics and the sciences. In March, 1839, he commenced reading law at Waterbury Center, Vermont, and was admitted to the bar in 1841, having in the meantime served his village as postmaster. Soon after becoming a lawyer, he came to the then territory of Wisconsin, and located at Elkhorn, in what is now Walworth County, where he practiced law, and at the same time continued his studies with great diligence. In addition to his professional labors, he was for one year the editor of the Western Star, published in Elkhorn, to which he contributed many able articles. The Wisconsin Farm Book he first published in 1846, issuing revised editions in 1848, 1850 and 1856. Soon after his arrival at Elkhorn, he entered public life, and was elected to various town and school offices, serving one term as chairman of the county board of supervisors. In 1847 the scope of his services broadened, and he was sent to the Constitutional Convention, in which body he was a prominent and hard working member, winning distinction for his labors on the judiciary committee. The same year he was elected district attorney for his county. It 1850 and 1851, he served in the state senate, being chairman of the committee on privileges and elections in the first session, and chairman of the committee on industry the second session. July 4, 1851, he received from the governor of the state, the appointment as brigadier-general in the militia. In the fall of that year he moved to La Crosse, and shortly after his arrival was elected county judge of La Crosse County, having both common law and probate jurisdiction not only of La Crosse County, which then embraced a large area, but also over Chippewa County, which had been attached to La Crosse County for judicial purposes. Jan. 1, 1854, he resigned, and in April, 1856, he was elected judge of the Sixth Judicial District, composed of the counties of Buffalo, Clark, Jackson, Monroe, Trempealeau, La Crosse, Vernon and Crawford, for the judicial term of six years, commencing Jan. 1, 1857. The duties of this office he discharged with much dignity and ability. During Judge Gale's residence at La Crosse, he urged very strongly upon the prominent citizens of that place the importance of their establishing a college or an institution of learning of a higher order, but the country being new, the project did not find favor with the people, and nothing was done to carry out this worthy project. He shortly afterward decided to found a college and town on his own responsibility. Accordingly in 1853, he purchased about 2,000 acres of land, including the present location of Galesville, with the water power on Beaver Creek, and in January, 1854, he procured from the state legislature the organization of the new county of Trempealeau, with the location of the county seat at Galesville. At the same time he obtained a charter for a university to be located at that place. The board of trustees was organized in 1855, and the first edifice commenced in 1858. In June, 1854, the village plot of Galesville was laid out. Even through the financial crisis, Judge Gale carried the university to success, and had the great joy of seeing the first class graduated in July, 1865. After eleven years as president of the board of trustees and of the faculty, he resigned, and left the work in other hands, although he never lost his active interest. In 1863 the institution conferred upon him the degree of LL.D., the University of Vermont having paved the way by granting him the degree of MAA. in 1857. As an historical writer, Judge Gale took a high rank. For the Wisconsin State Historical Society, of which he was at one time vice-president and later an honorary member, he prepared an elaborate paper entitled, "History of the Chippewa Nation of Indians," which is included in the published "Collections" of the society. In 1866 he published at Galesville a "Genealogical History of the Gale Family in England and in the United States, With an Account of the Tottingham Family, of New England, and of the Bogardus, Waldron and Young Families, of New York," a volume requiring a large amount of patience and persevering investigation. His last work, to the preparation of which he devoted many years, was published in 1867 and was entitled, "The Upper Mississippi, or Historical Sketches of the Introduction of Civilization in the Northwest," a work which was well received and widely circulated. Judge Gale's health partially failed him in the summer of 1862, and the three following winters he spent in the South and West, most of the time in the service of the Sanitary and Christian Commissions. During February and March, 1863, he had charge of the United States Sanitary Commission Depot, on Morris Island, during the siege of Charleston. He departed this life with all the consolations of the Christian religion, at Galesville, April 1, 1868. In all the relations of life, in which he had been called to take part, Judge Gale was always faithful, honest and persevering, with habits of industry and close application. Those who knew him the best esteemed him the most. In all respects he was an estimable man, discharging every duty to the best of his ability. He retained his mental faculties to the last, his faith was strong, and his last days were full of peace.
December, 1844, Judge Gale married Gertrude Young, born at Schenectady, N. Y., in 1810, daughter of George and Anna (Waldron) Young. She died March 3, 1902. In the family there were three children: George, a leading attorney of Galesville; William, a prominent attorney of Winona, who died Aug. 13, 1903; and Helen, wife of H. J. Arnold, who is engaged in the drug business in Kansas City.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 295 - 297
George Gale, Jr., a distinguished attorney of Galesville, was born in Elkhorn, Walworth County, Wisconsin, Sept. 14, 1845, son of George and Gertrude (Young) Gale. He was taken to La Crosse as a small boy, and was but 12 years of age when his parents brought him to Galesville. Here he attended the public schools, and in due time entered Gale College, from which he was graduated in June, 1866. Then he studied law in his father's office. In 1868 he was admitted to the bar of Wisconsin and Minnesota, and the following year moved with his mother, brother and sister to Winona, where he spent one year in the office of Judge Thomas Simpson. In 1870 he and his brother, William, engaged in the practice of law at Winona, under the firm name of G. & W. Gale. In 1880, the partnership was dissolved, and George Gale moved to Fairmont, Minn., where he continued his practice. He subsequently practiced at Berlin, Wis., and later engaged in the lumber and supply business at Merrill, Wis. Because of his wife's failing health, he returned to Trempealeau County in 1885, and moved onto the old Gale farm. In 1894 he moved to Galesville Village, where he has since resided. He devotes his time to the practice of his profession, and to looking after his farm and village holdings. He is the justice of the peace for the village, has been city judge of Berlin, Wis., and was county attorney of Martin County, Minn. His fraternal relations are with the Knights of Pythias, in the local lodge of which he was an officer for a number of years, and in the state lodge of which he has sat as a delegate. Mr. Gale was married in 1874, to Myra Johnson, who was born in Elkhorn, Wis., daughter of D. R. and Katherine (Pike) Johnson, of old Huguenot stock, early settlers of Wisconsin, and natives of New York. The father engaged in the furniture business in Elkhorn, Wis., and at Berlin, Wis., established a casket factory, which is now the Milwaukee Casket Co. By this marriage Mr. Gale had two children, Mamie, who died at the age of eight years, and George, who died in infancy. Mr. Gale was married Dec. 31, 1903, to Mrs. Elizabeth (Glennie) Stewart, daughter of John and Elizabeth Glennie and widow of Duncan Stewart. She was born in Scotland, came to America as a child, was married at Northbend, later moved to West Salem, and there lived for some years. She has a daughter, Margaret. Mr. and Mrs. Gale have two sons, George Glennie, born Feb. 14, 1905, and William John, born May 13, 1912.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 297 - 298
E. Jennie Gallaway, part owner with her brother William of Evergreen Lodge stock farm, located in section 16, Gale Township, where she now resides, was born in Penfield, Ohio, Feb. 1, 1859, a daughter of Isaac and Fanny (Jacobs) Gallaway. Coming to Trempealeau County with her parents in 1863, she grew to womanhood on the parental homestead, where she has always remained. Having strong artistic tastes, she took lessons from Sara Birdsall, the well known artist, and has herself achieved no little fame, occupying a recognized place in the art world. Her home is adorned with some beautiful paintings from her own brush, including one of Niagara Falls and one of the Dells of Wisconsin, both instinct with fidelity to nature and showing masterly treatment. Like most true artists, Miss Gallaway is fond of outdoor recreations and a great admirer of flowers. Her rose beds and rose bushes, in the development of which she takes a great and active interest, are famous throughout this part of the county, and attract many people to the farm, the visitors always receiving a cordial welcome. Miss Gallaway is a lady of refinement, tact and good business ability and she and her brother are popular members of society in Gale Township.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 328
William Gallaway, who is conducting Evergreen Lodge stock farm in section 16, Gale Township, of which he is part owner with his sister, E. Jennie Gallaway, was born at Penfield, Ohio, Dec. 16, 1855, son of Isaac and Fanny (Jacobs) Gallaway. Isaac Gallaway was born in Methwold, Norfolk County, England, Aug. 6, 1828, and grew to manhood in his native land. In the spring of 1853, with a party of relations and friends, he came to the United States. One of the members of the party was Miss Fanny Jacobs, also a native of England, to whom he married in August, that year. He and his wife first located in Ohio, where they lived ten years, removing to Wisconsin in 1863, and taking up their residence on the Andrews farm near Galesville. About seven years later they settled on the farm now owned by their son William, and daughter, E. Jennie Gallaway. On this farm Isaac Gallaway died, Sept. 22, 1908, his wife having previously passed away June 13, 1889. He was a farmer practically all his life and was one of the men who assisted in converting this part of Trempealeau County into a fertile farming community. A man of sterling worth, warm in his friendships and strictly honest in his dealings with all men, he was honored and respected by all. For a number of years he served as chairman of the township board and also as a member of the school board. He and his wife had three children: Elizabeth, William and E. Jennie. William Gallaway was educated in the district school of his township and at Galesville high school, which he attended two years. He was early trained to agricultural pursuits under the mentorship of his father. About 1900 he engaged in the stock business and has since been occupied in raising pure-bred Galloway cattle, in which line of industry he has been very successful. The farm is well equipped with good modern buildings and all necessary implements, a recent addition to the machinery being a large Avery tractor. The farm consists of 200 acres of fertile land. Mr. Gallaway is a member of the Galloway Breeders' Association and keeps well up with scientific progress in his line of work. In politics he is independent, and, while he has never been politically active, he has rendered good service to his township as treasurer of the school board.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 325 - 326
Amund Garthus is one of the leading citizens of Independence, and has been intimately associated with its business, political and social life for nearly 40 years. In building up a successful business he has assisted in the general development of the village, but the work by which he will be longest remembered is his civic service. The municipal improvements of the village have been his especial hobby, and he has given much of his spare time and all of his influence, to bring some of these improvements about. For no less than 17 years he was president of the village council, and for 15 years he served on the school board, a long record of public work worthily and efficiently performed. He was born in Valders, Norway, Oct. 4, 1852, son of Harold and Karen (Rustebakke) Garthus. He was reared to manhood in the old country, and in 1880 set out for the United States. Sept. 14 of that year he reached Independence, where he obtained work as clerk in a store and was thus occupied for about nine months. He then entered into partnership with Henry Hanson and bought the store of O. P. Larson, which they conducted for two years and a half under the style of Hanson & Garthus. Subsequently Mr. Garthus conducted the business alone until 1884, when the store was destroyed by fire. In the fall of 1885 he started another store with J. A. Johanssen and was associated with him until the spring of 1889, at which time he bought the entire business and has since operated it alone. He has built up a good patronage and is doing a successful business. In 1901 he rebuilt the store, now having a two-room brick building, two stories and basement, measuring 42 by 70 feet. He and his family are members of the Norwegian Lutheran church, he having been secretary of the Independence congregation for many years. Mr. Garthus was married Aug. 13, 1887 to Susanna Torgerson, of Vernon County, Wis., who was born in that county Dec. 9, 1864. Mr. and Mrs. Garthus have had six children: Harold O., born May 23, 1888, who is manager of his father's store; Samuel C., who died in 1907 at the age of 17 years; Lillian T., born February 18, 1892, who is a bookkeeper in her father's store; Ira B., born Sept. 18, 1894, and Adam S., born Nov. 26, 1897, who are employed in the store, and Arthur W., who died in infancy. Harold Garthus, father of Amund Garthus, was born Feb. 6, 1802, and died Oct. 12, 1880. He was married Nov. 12, 1836, to Karen Rustebakke, who was born Sept. 2, 1819, and died Oct. 16, 1891. Ole Torgerson, father of Mrs. Garthus, was born and reared in Norway, came to America in 1850, settled in Dane county, this State, moved to Vernon County in 1852, and there devoted his life to farming, dying at Independence in the spring of 1901, at the age of 86 years, his good wife, Sigri Midtveit, dying in 1896 at the age of 77 years.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 664 - 665
James Gaveney was one of the founders and pioneers of Trempealeau County, his personality was woven into much of the warp and woof of the county's early history,and his name was inseparably connected with its destinies for many years. He not only developed one of the best farms in the county, but he likewise became interested in a number of important business ventures, and his varied activities included the milling, lumbering and cheese-making industries. James Gaveney was born at Balley Bay County Monaghan, Ireland, April 5, 1825. Left an orphan at an early age, he was reared to farm pursuits, and upon attaining his majority, went to Dublin, where for some years he was employed as a member of the police force. While thus engaged he constantly heard stories of the wonderful possibilities offered to men of industry and intelligence in the United States, and he accordingly determined to try his fortunes in the new world. The opportunity came in 1848, when, with little more than sufficient funds to pay his passage, he set out for America. After landing, he found his way to Mineral Point, this State, where for a while he was engaged in lead mining. In 1852, when the excitement attending the gold discovery in California was at its height, he joined Captain Sublette's company and crossed the plains to the Pacific coast. His first location in that State was at French Corral, where he remained one year, and was afterward at Forest City about four years. At French Corral he formed the acquaintance of Noah Comstock, another pioneer and prominent citizen of Trempealeau County, who preceded Mr. Gaveney here by a year, and became one of the first settlers in the now historic "Bishop Colony," of which he was a member. The circumstances of the meeting of these two sturdy frontiersmen was most peculiar and furnished them with much amusement in after years. According to the story which, with many a chuckle, they often told, they met as strangers and there arose between them a most serious dispute as to the title of a certain claim which grew so violent in its character that revolvers were drawn, and the quarrel seemed likely to terminate seriously to one or both of the parties. But better counsels prevailed, and they agreed to work the claim in partnership. As these gentlemen came to know each other better, and to appreciate each other's better qualities, a friendship was formed which only ceased with death. Their attachment was ever a subject of remark.
Mr. Gaveney returned from California via the Isthmus of Panama, and came to Trempealeau County from Mineral Point in 1856; he first purchased 40 acres of land, which forms a part of the present homestead of the family; and he afterward increased his possessions until he owned many hundred acres. His life was devoted mainly to agricultural pursuits, and he was ever a well-known and influential citizen. In 1879, in company with Mr. Comstock, he bought the Independence Mill at Independence, where they did quite an extensive business; their output averaged about $60,000 per annum. They were also engaged in the lumber business at the same place. Personally, Mr. Gaveney was a man of more than average physical strength, and possessed great will power. He was prominent in whatever tended to promote the best interests of the community in which he lived, and possessed the respect and esteem of his fellow citizens. In his political affiliations he was a Republican. His tastes were opposed to the seeking of political preferment, but he was prevailed upon to accept a number of public offices, including the chairmanship of his township, and other positions, and from June, 1876, until July, 1885, he was postmaster, resigning his position by reason of advanced years. He was a successful man, and deservedly so, and at his death, which occurred June 21, 1889, the community was bereft of one of its most worthy citizens. He left behind him a record worthy of preservation in the annals of his county. Mr. Gaveney was married in Arcadia in 1860, to Maria Martha Briggs, who was born in Vermont, June 30, 1830. This union was blessed with three children: Charles, John C. and Mamie. Charles was born May 27, 1861, and died Dec. 5, 1889. John C. was born Oct. 30, 1863, and is one of the leading citizens of Arcadia. Mamie died at the age of 11 years in 1879. After the death of Mr. Gaveney his good wife continued to live on the pleasant homestead near the village of Arcadia until her lamented death, Feb. 19, 1908.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 673 - 674
John C. Gaveney, leading attorney, former senator, member of the Wisconsin Exemption Board, president of the Western Wisconsin Telephone Company, president of the Ettrick & Northern Railroad Company, vice-president of the Bank of Arcadia, owner of a modern stock farm, and prominently identified with the political, economical and social life of Trempealeau County for the past 30 years, is one of the leading citizens of Western Wisconsin, and his name is inseparably connected with its history, as was that of his father before him. The career which has led to these many honors and distinctions has been a most notable one. Born on the pioneer homestead in this county, June 30, 1863, he was reared to sturdy boyhood, and attended first the school at Old Arcadia, and then the school in the new village, graduating from the Arcadia public schools with the class of 1879. Thus prepared, he increased his educational experience by teaching for several seasons, and then, in 1881, entered the University of Wisconsin, graduating in the class of 1885 with the degree of B. A. Then he again taught for a while, and subsequently entered the law department of his alma mater, receiving his degree of LL. B. with the class of 1888. He began the practice of his profession at Milwaukee, but a short time afterward formed a partnership with J. O. Raymond at Stevens Point. He was there on the highway to success, when he was called home by the death of his father, June 21, 1890, and the death of his brother, Dec. 5, 1889, and the burdens of the various interests of the estate fell upon his shoulders. He at once opened an office here, but for the first three years he was largely engaged in operating the mill and lumber yard at Independence, and the farms at Independence and Arcadia. He is now dean of the lawyers of the county, he has been engaged in most of its important litigation for nearly 30 years, and he has been one of the most eloquent and able attorneys that has ever practiced before its courts. His interest in farming has never abated. His large tract of 500 acres near the village is one of the show places of the county. Here he carries on general agricultural operations along the most modern improved lines, making a specialty of dairying and stock raising and maintaining a fine herd of Holstein-Friesian cattle. A tractor engine furnishes much of the motive power, and a feature of the work on the place is the new B. L. K. milking machines, the farm being the first in this region where such equipment was installed. The story of the starting of the telephone line which has now become the important Western Wisconsin Telephone Company by Mr. Gaveney and a few of his friends, as well as the story of the Ettrick & Northern Railroad, and his shaping of its destinies since the people of Ettrick first conceived the project is told elsewhere in this work, as is also the story of the municipal improvements of Arcadia, many of the most important of which were installed during his terms of office as village president, and all of which have been given the benefit of his influence and enthusiasm. Since early manhood he has been interested in politics, he has been the center of many a political fight as a delegate to county, district and State Conventions, and while he has preferred to be a power behind the office rather than to actually occupy office himself, he has served in several important public positions. His service as state senator in 1901-1905 added materially to his influence throughout the State. Being of a fraternal nature, Senator Gaveney has allied himself with Arcadia Lodge, No. 201, A. F. & A. M., and with Chapter No. 76, R. A. M. He is a lover of the out-of-doors, and aside from farming, his greatest hobby is fishing, some of his greatest legal problems having been worked out while he was "casting" for trout along the beautiful streams of Trempealeau County. In personality, Senator Gaveney is of genial temperament and tremendous energy, a polished gentleman of the old school, and much of his influence is reflected in the progressive spirit of the village. He is democratic and approachable, an untiring worker for every good cause or worthy project. His beautiful home, erected on a bluff overlooking the business section of the village, is one of the social centers of the county, and he and Mrs. Gaveney delight in dispensing hospitality to young and old alike. Mr. Gaveney was married, April 9, 1890, to Isadore D. Webster, step-daughter of Judge E. W. Keyes, of Madison. This union has been blessed with two children: Marguerite and Stanleigh. Marguerite was born Oct. 2, 1891, graduated from the Arcadia High School, attended the University of Wisconsin, became a proficient musician, and is now proprietor of a millinery establishment of Arcadia. Stanleigh was born July 6, 1896, graduated from the Arcadia High School, where he attained considerable distinction as an athlete, and is now attending the University of Wisconsin, with a view to later adopting his father's profession.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 674 - 676
Frank A. George, secretary of the Auto Sales Company of Whitehall, and president of the Trempealeau County School Committee, is one of the best known men in the county. Of a genial temperament and quiet disposition, he has been actively interested in public affairs for many years, has mingled considerably in politics, has served in numerous local offices, has represented the Republican party at numerous conventions, and for a time occupied an official position in the house of Representatives at Washington. Of ancient New England ancestry, he was born in Haverhill, Mass., July 26, 1861, son of Lucien and Harriet (Morrison) George. He received his early education in the public schools of his native place, graduated from the high school there, and passed the examinations admitting him to Harvard University. Determining, however, to embark upon a business rather than a scholastic career, he became cashier and accountant for the Gale Brothers' Manufacturing Company at Haverhill. In 1883 he decided to become an agriculturist in the middle west, and with this object in view came to Hale Township in Trempealeau County and secured 400 acres in sections 19 and 20, Township 23, range 7, 240 acres being bought from the railroad, and 160 acres from a previous owner. Of this, four years later, he sold 160 acres, leaving a good farm of 240 acres, which he still owns. Mr. George was the pioneer dairyman of the county. Others had raised cows for dairy purposes, but it was he who first understood it as the principal business of his farm. For a time he had the biggest dairy business in the county. Of this herd of 100 cows 23 were full blooded Jerseys, and there were seasons when he milked as high as 60 cows. In 1911 he turned the farm over to his son-in-law, S. B. Scott, and in 1913 he moved to Whitehall and purchased an interest in the Auto Sales Company, of which he became the secretary. His popularity and personality have been important factors in the success with which the concern has met. Mr. George's public life would in itself make a most interesting chapter. In his township he was an excellent justice of the peace for about twenty years, and for a similar period did most efficient service on the school board, part of the time as clerk and part of the time as treasurer. His experience in this line was an important factor in securing him the appointment at the head of the county schoolboard in 1915. A staunch Republican in politics he has been chairman of the County Republican Committee for the past eight years, and in the old convenion [sic] days he was the center of many a hot political fight at county and state gatherings. In recognition of his activities and worth he was given an appointment on the staff of employees of the House of Representatives at Washington, serving in 1897, 1898, 1899, 1900 and 1901. For ten years he was chairman of the town of Hale and in this capacity gave most excellent service as a member of the county board. All in all he is a most useful citizen. Unostentatious in his ways, his voice and influence are always raised in behalf of the things that are for the betterment and progress of the community, and any good cause finds in him an active supporter. Mr. George was married at Shawano, Wis., Oct., 1877, to Mary J. Gibson, and this union was blessed with one daughter, Edith, wife of S. B. Scott, who conducts her father's farm. Mrs. George died Dec. 6, 1911.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 631 - 632
Edmond C. Getts, produce buyer of Whitehall, was born in La Crosse, Feb. 9, 1867, son of Henry E. and Emma (Lambert) Getts, who brought him in 1873 to Whitehall, where he was reared and educated. In 1886 he and Frank W. Potter started a cheese factory in Whitehall, which they operated for two years. In 1888 he and C. E. Evenson started the first creamery in Whitehall, and operated it for some four years. In 1892 he and his father engaged in the hay and grain business under the firm name of H. E. Getts & Son. In 1896 with A. E. Wing became interested in the A. E. Wing Company, of which he was made the manager. The firm was changed to Wing & Getts in 1908, and since 1912 Mr. Getts has conducted the business alone as sole owner, under his own name. Mr. Getts buys eggs and poultry on an extensive scale. He also handles coal to some extent. He is a prominent man in public affairs, having been village president for two years and village clerk for four years. In fraternal circles he has taken an active part, belonging to the Blue Lodge of the Masons, in which he has passed through the chair,a nd also to the Commandery. Mr. Getts was married April 14, 1892, to Pearl Emma Sherwood, of Whitehall, who was born Oct. 23, 1872, and died June 30, 1913, the daughter of Charles A. and Mary (Barrington) Sherwood, who now live at Whitehall, the former being a Civil War veteran and a retired nurseryman. To Mr. and Mrs. Getts were born two children: Clark Hallum and Katherine Agnes. Clark Hallum was born Aug. 5, 1893, pased [sic] through the Whitehall graded and high schools, received his degree of A. B. from the University of Wisconsin in 1914, and his LL. B. from Columbia University in 1916, and is now associated with the firm of Counselman & Co. in Chicago. Katherine Agnes is at home.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 313
Henry E. Getts, first postmaster of North La Crosse, first general storekeeper in Whitehall, and for many years owner of the Whitehall Mill, was born in Philadelphia, Pa. He came West during the Civil War, and for several years kept a grocery store at North La Crosse, where he was appointed first postmaster. In 1873 he came to Whitehall, and established the first general store in the village. This store he successfully conducted until 1892, in the meantime having acquired the Whitehall Mill. In 1892 he took his son, Edmond C. Getts, as a partner, and for six years, under the firm name of H. E. Getts & Son, engaged in the hay and grain business at Whitehall. At the end of this period he removed to La Crosse, where, for about six years, he was employed as manager of the shoe department of the Doerflinger Department Store. Then he retired and resided in La Crosse until his death, Sept. 2, 1910. His wife, whose maiden name was Emma Lambert, now makes her home in Whitehall.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 313
Arthur A. Gibbs, manager of the electric plant of Trempealeau, is a man who has had wide experience in various branches of industrial activity. He is a native son of the village, as he was born here July 25, 1863, his parents being O. E. and Louisa (Grant) Gibbs. As a young boy he attended the district school of Caledonia Township, and from 12 to 16 continued his studies in the Trempealeau village school. Until 1883 he resided on his father's farm, near the village, during the winters, but his summers, beginning with 1880, he spent on a farm which his father owned in South Dakota, near Arlington. In the fall of 1883 Mr. Gibbs became assistant agent for the American Express Company at Tracy, Minn., and was thus occupied until the spring of 1885. He then returned to Trempealeau and bought an interest in the boot, shoe and grocery business with Charles B. Allen, also taking care of the express business for both the American and Adams Express Companies here. In the spring of 1887 Mr. Gibbs sold out his interest in the store to Mr. Allen and in the following summer went back to South Dakota and opened a meat market at Arlington. he conducted this market until the fall of 1889 and then again returned to Trempealeau. he now entered the employ of the "Burlington" Railroad Company as bridge carpenter, and continued in that department until the summer of 1891, when he engaged in train service for the same road as freight brakeman. In 1893 he was promoted to the position of conductor and ran freight until 1898. That fall he went into the meat business at La Crosse, Wis., having a market on George street, and here he remained in business for about two years, selling out in the spring of 1900. He now entered the employ of the Duluth & Iron Range Railroad, as conductor, hauling iron ore and logs, and continued at this work until the close of navigation, in the winter of 1900. From that time until the fall of 1902 he was on the police force of Two Harbors, Minn., but then resigned and went to Arlington, S. D., to take charge of his father's farm there for a season.
In the fall of 1903 Mr. Gibbs went to Ohio and married Minnie McNaughton, a daughter of Harlow and Lucinda McNaughton, of Rutland, that State, and who was born there Dec. 12, 1875. After his marriage he returned to the South Dakota farm. Adjoining the farm was a tree claim of 160 acres, all improved, with good buildings, which Mr. Gibbs purchased in the spring of 1904, and which increased the size of the farm to 320 acres. In 1906 he bought 80 acres more of adjoining land, and on this farm of 400 acres he lived until 1910, when he sold it to John Murphy, of Aurelia, Iowa. In the fall of 1910 Mr. Gibbs returned to Trempealeau Village, but did nothing until the spring of 1911. He then went to Alberta, Canada, where he homesteaded 170 acres of land along the Athabaska River, which lay 65 miles from a railroad, Whitecourt being the postoffice. The first year he broke ten acres and built a log house, and for three successive years he broke ten acres each year in order to meet the requirements of the law, obtaining a land patent from the government in October, 1914. In the winter of 1912-13 he hauled over the country, a distance of 65 miles, a 100-horsepower sawmill outfit, which he set up at Whitecourt and is still operating. In October, 1914, Mr. Gibbs again returned to Trempealeau and has since remained here, having charge of the village electric light plant. He still owns [sic] 160 acres of land near Highmore, Hughes County, S. D., also 124 acres on "Sam Noyes Island," Minnesota, opposite Trempealeau village, and is president and manager of the Eagle Cliff Lime Product Company, of Trempealeau. His society affiliations are with the Order of Railroad Conductors, Division No. 61, of La Crosse, to which he has belonged since 1894; and Hamilton Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of La Crosse. He and his wife have four children, all living at home: Grace Helen, born at Arlington, S. D., Feb. 26, 1905; Alice Louisa, born at Arlington, Sept. 26, 1907; Clara Eva, born at Arlington, Nov. 23, 1908, and Frank George, born at Trempealeau, Wis., Sept. 7, 1910. Mr. Gibbs was brought up to attend the Methodist Episcopal church, but has never affiliated himself with the church as a member. His wife is a member of the Christian church in Ohio. They are people well known and esteemed in Trempealeau Village and the vicinity.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 313 - 315
George Grant Gibbs, of the firm of Ford & Gibbs, implement dealers, of Trempealeau Village, is a man who has had a thorough training in the line of work in which he is now engaged, although he has been established here bur for about three years. He is, however, a native of the county, having been born in Caledonia Township, Nov. 13, 1865, the youngest son of O. E. and Louisa (Grant) Gibbs. His father being a farmer, he was early initiated into agricultural methods, gradually becoming acquainted with the various kinds of machinery used on a farm and the respective value of the different types of machines. He attended school up to 19 years of age, working on the parental homestead during his vacations, and after putting away his class books, continued to do so all the time until he was 23, except for the summer of 1887, when he was employed as clerk on a Mississippi River steamboat. March 8, 1890, he was married to Jennie Hudson, daughter of Henry and Kate (Stark) Hudson, of Trempealeau County, and immediately after went to South Dakota, and until the spring of 1892 was engaged in managing his father's farms in the vicinity of Arlington, that State. It was just after this that he became connected with the implement business, taking a position as local salesman with S. C. Cornell, of Arlington, for whom he worked one year. In the spring of 1893 he entered the employ of the Altman Miller Company, of Akron, Ohio, in the same capacity, traveling in South Dakota, but remained with them only one season. His next employers were Sherman Bros. & Bratager, wholesale implement dealers, of Sioux Falls, S. D., for whom he traveled eight years, at the end of which time they went out of business. In 1900 he went with the Janesville Machinery Company, of Janesville, Wis., and until July, 1911, was engaged in selling goods for them in South Dakota. In the year 1900, when he went with the Janesville company, he was living in Brookings, S. D., but in the spring of the following year he moved to Watertown, that State, his next removal being a return to Sioux Falls in the spring of 1903. During his last two years in Sioux Falls, 1909 and 1910, he was associated with P. F. Sherman, of that city, as proprietor and manager of a wholesale and transfer implement house, the business being the jobbing, storing and reshipping of agricultural implements. Mr. Gibbs now returned to his native county, taking up his residence in the village of Trempealeau, but until Jan. 1, 1914, he continued to travel for the Janesville Machinery Company. Having saved some money, he now resolved to sell goods for himself, and accordingly, taking as partner his brother-in-law, C. S. Ford, he opened his present place of business in Trempealeau Village, and his success up to date has fully justified this action. He has taken an active part in promoting the general business interests of the village and has been president of the village commercial club since settling here. For the past three years he has also been president of the La Crosse and Trempealeau County Implement Club - a similar position to that which he held while living in Sioux Falls, where he served as president of the Sioux Falls Implement and Vehicle Club. In short, Mr. Gibbs has always endeavored to rise above mere routine work, and has proved himself a "live wire" whenever there was opportunity for advancing his personal interests, those of his employers, or of the community in which he lived. For the last three years he has rendered good service on the county board. In politics he is a staunch Republican. Brought up in his youth to attend the Methodist Episcopal church, he aids in its support, but is not identified with it as a member. His wife also takes a similar interest in the church. They have a neat and substantial residence in the village, provided with modern conveniences. Mr. Gibbs has membership in several fraternal orders, including Lodge No. 117, A. F. & A. M., of Trempealeau; Lodge No. 838, B. P. O. E., of Watertown, S. D., to which he has belonged since 1902; the A. O. U. W. Lodge at Arlington, S. D., which he joined in 1890, and the U. C. T. Lodge, No. 100, of Sioux Falls, S. D., which he joined in 1897.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 315 - 317
Oliver E. Gibbs, pioneer, public official and prominent citizen, was born at Cherry Creek, Chautauqua County, N. Y., April 15, 1837, son of Israel and Charlotte (Wright) Gibbs, the former of German descent and the latter of Colonial English stock. The father, who was a building contractor, specializing in bridges, piers and warehouses, came West, bringing the family, in 1844, and settled at Racine, Wis., where he spent the remainder of his days. In the family there were eleven children: Sidney, Melvin, Augustus, Gilbert, Oliver E., Lewis and Hoel, Ruth, Mary and Grace. All are now deceased except Oliver E. Of these children, Gilbert was the one who first contemplated settling in Trempealeau County. He started out in the fall of 1854, with an ox team, provisions, household goods, and a herd of young stock. Oliver E., in his brother's employ, drove the stock. After a journey of over two weeks they reached their destination, four miles east of Trempealeau Village. There Oliver E. worked on Gilbert's farm for four years. In the meantime, in 1856, he bought 200 acres of wild land in Section 25, Caledonia Township, and 40 acres in Section 26, Trempealeau Township. In 1858, he built a house on Section 25, and there established his home. The succeeding years were busy ones. Land had to be broken, buildings erected, equipment secured, fences constructed, and the farm developed. Together with general faring on an extensive scale, Mr. Gibbs bought and sold cattle, swine and horses, and even shipped horses to South Dakota. The opportunity presented itself to acquire more land, so he purchased 30 acres of heavy timberland in Caledonia Township, which he is still preserving, and 50 acres of meadow and pasture land in Trempealeau Township. For a while he also owned a quarter section of good land in Ridgeville Township, Monroe County, Wis., which he sold in 1860. For several years he was interested in South Dakota real estate, though, aside from stying long enough to prove upon a claim, he never actually lived there. In 1880 he homesteaded 160 acres near what is now Arlington, in Brookings County, S. D. the same year he took a tree claim of 160 acres, adjoining the other claim, but across the line in Kingsbury County. On the homestead he built a good two-story house, a large barn, a swine house, a granary, and other buildings, and set out a fruit orchard. On the tree claim he built a good house, a large barn, two granaries, a swine house, a chicken house and a large tool shed. The buildings on both places were painted, well furnished and well equipped. In 1904 Mr. Gibbs disposed of all his South Dakota holdings. In the meantime, in 1882, he had moved his family to Trempealeau Village in order to secure better educational advantages for his children. He bought a house and two lots, improved the house, and has there made his home since that time. With all his busy life, Mr. Gibbs has found time for active public service. For a considerable period he was chairman of the board of supervisors of Trempealeau Township, and chairman of the board of supervisors of Trempealeau County. At one time he was master of the poor in Trempealeau Village and Township. His distinguished work in relation to the establishment of the County Insane Asylum at Whitehall is recorded elsewhere in this history. On many different occasions he has done jury service in the district court. He has also served on various committees and delegations.
Mr. Gibbs was married at Trempealeau, Sept. 21, 1861, to Louisa Grant, who was born in Pomeroy, Meigs County, Ohio, April 7, 1841, and came West with her parents. She was an able helpmate to her husband in all his undertakings, a faithful wife and a loving and considerate mother. Her services in the Methodist church, especially her work in the Sunday school department, will never be forgotten. In 1910 her health began to fail, and on Dec. 16, 1914, she died. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Gibbs was blessed with five children: Arthur A., George G., Jessie, Grace B. and Blanche. Arthur A. is superintendent of the village electric light plant at Trempealeau. He was married in 1903 to Mary McNaughton, of Ohio, and they have four children, Grace, Alice, Clara and Frank. George G. is a member of the firm of Ford & Gibbs, of Trempealeau, dealers in farm implements. He married Jane Hudson, of Bloomington, Wis. Jessie was married April 5, 1901, to Clifford Ford, of the firm of Ford & Gibbs, and they have four children, Neil, Harold, Edith and Jessie. Grace B. and Blanche are at home.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 317 - 318
Arthur A. Gibson, a successful farmer of Section 14, Trempealeau Township, was born in Section 4, near Centerville, this township, son of William H. and Mary N. (Porter) Gibson. The father was born in Canada, July 21, 1850, the mother in Holland Township, La Crosse County, December 23, 1856. She was a daughter of Langdon Porter, of Trempealeau. They were married June 6, 1875, and went to live on an improved farm of 160 acres, in Section 4, which Mr. Gibson had bought. The place is now known as the L. Cook Farm. Here they lived until 1893, when Mr. Gibson added 80 acres adjoining, making 240 acres in the farm, though a house was practically the only building, there being no barns. For years he followed general farming, also making a specialty of breeding English Shire horses until 1909, in the spring of which year he and his wife went to Oregon, where they are now residing. They had three children: Kate M., born March 4, 1875, who married A. R. Curtis, of Portland, and died April 29, 1916; Arthur A., of Trempealeau Township, and Winnie, born in this township April 8, 1883, who is the wife of A. H. Lea, of Salem, Oregon. Arthur A. Gibson was educated in the common schools up to the age of fourteen, after which, until he was seventeen he attended the Trempealeau High School. He subsequently remained on the farm with his father until his marriage, December 2, 1908, to Clara L., daughter of Herman and Johanna (Sheehan) Cary, of Trempealeau Township, whose father was a native of this township, her mother being born in Ireland. He then rented the parental homestead, known as Oakwood Farm, and has since resided here, engaged in general farming and in the breeding of Shorthorn cattle and English Shire horses, keeping about 60 head of the former and 10 or 12 of the latter. His dwelling is a two-story frame residence of 14 rooms, his other buildings comprise three barns, a corn crib, machine shed, milking house and tank, granary and with poultry house attached. Mr. Gibson is also a stockholder in the Farmers' Exchange Elevator of Galesville, and the Trempealeau Shippers' Association. About 200 acres of his land is under the plow, with 40 in pasture and timber. In politics he is independent. He served four years as township clerk and five years as clerk of school district No. 3. He and his wife have had four children, all of whom are living; Elizabeth E., born February 13, 1911; Ruth Evelyn, born October 26, 1913; William H., born April 28, 1915, and Ethel May, born June 5, 1917.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 325
Charles J. Gibson, one of the leading citizens of Blair, is widely known for his progressive spirit, and the part he is having in every move which has for its object the upbuilding of the village and county. He was born in Cleveland, Ohio, June 24, 1872, the son of James and Catherine (Kutcher) Gibson, who brought him to Trempealeau County at the age of 9, arriving here Jan. 3, 1881. He was reared to farm pursuits and attended the district schools, supplementing this later with special courses in embalming. In 1895 he moved to Blair, where he has a large and successful furniture store, and where he is practicing his profession as a licensed embalmer and funeral director. He has been president, trustee and treasurer of the village, he has been prominent in educational affairs, and has been one of the moving spirits of the annual Chautauqua course. Mr. Gibson was married March 30, 1896, to Mary Elizabeth Ellison, and they have had four children: Merle, James (who was drowned at the age of 13), Evelyn and Lertha.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 779 - 780
Dan P. Gibson, county superintendent of schools, is leaving the impress of his personality and enthusiasm upon the educational life of this region. Since assuming the duties of his present position he has begun the use of the telephone and rural free delivery in the rural schools, has introduced the warm lunch movement, has installed domestic and manual training departments throughout the county, and has emphasized the importance of the teaching of scientific agriculture. That his standing is recognized outside of the country is shown by the fact that he had charge of the "School Management" section at the 1914 Summer School at the La Crosse Normal School, and by the further fact that he has been a vice-president and a director of the Western Wisconsin Teachers' Association. Dan P. Gibson was born in Hortonville, Wis., Feb. 25, 1863, son of William and Jane (McGregor) Gibson. After passing through the rural schools he obtained his higher education by farming summers, teaching winters, and attending school whenever his funds permitted him to do so. Thus by dint of hard work, perseverance and much home study, he was enabled to graduate from Gale College in 1883, and from the Winona State Normal School in 1893. Since the latter date he has devoted his time exclusively to educational work. After taking charge successively of the schools of Utica, Minn., Elba, Minn., Montgomery, Minn., and Melrose, Wis., he returned to Trempealeau County in the fall of 1908 as the head of the Ettrick Schools. In the spring of 1909 he was elected to his present position and has been successively re-elected every two years since that time. Fraternally, Mr. Gibson is associated with the Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen, in the latter of which he has filled all the chairs. He was married Aug. 15, 1885, to Emma Bowerman, who was born in Gale Township, June 3, 1864, daughter of Jacob and Sarah (Betts) Bowerman, the pioneers. This union has been blessed with three children, Maida, McGregor and Marguerite. Maida, a graduate of the Winona High School, is a teacher of reading and spelling in the Junior High School of New Richmond, Wis. McGregor is a farmer of Pigeon Township, this county. He married Emma Hall, of La Crosse, and they have three children, Maida Harriet, Dorothy June and Ethel Marie. Marguerite graduated from the Galesville High School and is a teacher in the primary grade at Whitehall.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 701
William Gibson, an early settler of Trempealeau County, was born in the Province of Quebec, Canada, March 7, 1824. From Canada he came to Outagamie County, this state, about 1845, and there remained until 1864, when he came to Trempealeau County and secured a tract of land in Trempealeau Township. Here he remained until his lamented death, Dec. 22, 1907. His wife, Jane McGregor, was born in Scotland in 1830, was brought to this country by her parents in 1833, lived in Outagamie County, Wisconsin, until her marriage, came to Trempealeau County with her husband, and died here in 1895, at the age of 65 years. Mr. and Mrs. Gibson had six children: Thomas, a farmer of Trempealeau Township; Eliza, wife of Andrew Johnson, a farmer of Hale Township; Ann, wife of David Wright, a farmer of Little Falls, Minn.; Jeanette, who died in 1893 at the age of 35, the wife of Frank Johnson, a farmer of Trempealeau township; Dan P., superintendent of schools of Trempealeau County, and Robert, a construction engineer now working in California.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 700
Albert E. Gilbertson, an enterprising and successful farmer of Ettrick Township, comes of one of the pioneer families of this township, of which he is a native, having been born here May 11, 1873. His parents were Even and Antoinette Marie (Ofsdahl) Gilbertson, natives of Norway, who were married in Wisconsin, the father being a son of Ole and Oline Gilbertson. Even was born in 1843 and when a boy of 13 or 14 years his parents emigrated with their family to the United States. The voyage, made in a slow sailing vessel, was long and tedious, but the shores of America were sighted at last and a landing effected. Making no stay in any eastern city or state, Ole Gilbertson and his family pushed on for the Northwest, which he had heard was now the land of opportunity for newcomers. He came to a halt at Stevenstown, La Crosse County, Wis., but seems not to have stayed there long, as soon after we find him homesteading 160 acres of land on French Creek, Ettrick Township, this county, and beginning its cultivation with an ox team. There were at that time but few settlers in the county, he being one of the original pioneers. As such he and his family had many hardships to endure and much hard work to perform, but in time his energy bore fruits, and with the assistance of sons he developed a good farm, and became one of the prominent and respected citizens of his township, aiding in the building of a church and taking a leading part in other public affairs. He and his good wife have long since passed to their final reward.
Even Gilbertson spent most of his boyhood days in assisting his father, when he was not attending school. In early manhood he started in for himself, buying a tract of 160 acres, and another of 80 acres, this land being situated in section 20-24-13, Ettrick Township. It was all wild land and there was not even a road in the vicinity, so that his task was to carve a farm out of the primitive wilderness. His first house was a shanty, 16 by 24 feet, and 12 feet high, and with this beginning he set to work, his labors being hard and strenuous and lasting many years. He was made of the right stuff to succeed, however, and gradually the wild appearance of this land changed its aspect for one of cultivation, the old primitive shanty giving place to a dwelling more suggestive of domestic comfort. Barns and outbuildings, too, appeared, and increased in size with successive enlargements, or the erection of new buildings, while similar changes went on in the neighborhood with the advent of new settlers, until the community presented a civilized and flourishing appearance. On this farm Even resided to the end of his life, dying at the age of 72 years in 1912. He held a leading place among his fellow townsmen, was chairman of the township board for many years and served as assessor eight years, being well informed as to the value of all real property in the township. In politics he was a staunch Republican. A Lutheran in religious faith, he and his family helped to start the church of that denomination on French Creek, he being one of its officials, acting as trustee, foreman and collector of funds. He also aided in the building of the school and served as its clerk and treasurer. Among other enterprises which he took an active part in starting were the creamery and mill at Frenchville and the insurance company. In short, for a number of years there were few important enterprises started in the vicinity in which he was not interested in one way or another. The insurance company he served as clerk for 20 years, and he also became a stockholder in the telephone company. During his active career he developed two farms, starting with straw sheds, which he later replaced with wooden buildings, hauling the lumber from the old mill at Alma, Buffalo County. He kept good stock, favoring Durham cattle and Shropshire sheep, and his horses were also of excellent quality. His wife Antoinette was a worthy helpmate to him, and to her he owed much of his success, which he always readily acknowledged. She was about 12 years younger than himself and is still living, being now 65 years old. Their eight children also are living, namely: Lena, Bertie, Ida, Laura, Sophie, Stella, Emma and Alfred E.
Alfred E. Gilbertson was reared to manhood on the old homestead and acquired his education in the district school. In course of time, as his father became advanced in years, he took over the management of the farm, which he has since operated successfully. For the past three years he has been a trustee of the Lutheran church, but has held no town office. Mr. Gilbertson married Oriana Hegge, of La Crosse, Nov. 8, 1902, daughter of J. O. and Carrie (Olson) Hegge. He and his wife are the parents of one child, Mildred. On his farm are some fine pine trees, which were set out by his grandfather, Ole, at a very early date, while others were planted by his father, Even, 50 years ago. The development of this place from the original wilderness to its present flourishing conditions, with its highly cultivated land, neat and substantial buildings and modern equipment, is typical of the great changes that have taken place in the county since the pioneer settlers first appeared upon the scene with their ox carts and homemade appliances some 50 or 60 years ago.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 331 - 332
John F. Gilbertson, who came to Trempealeau County in 1878 and lived on a farm in Arcadia Township from 1889 up to the time of his death, Aug. 27, 1917, was born near Christiania, Norway, Oct. 10, 1854. he was a son of Gulbrand and Ele Jacobson, who reared him to farm pursuits. In 1878, with his chum, Carl Larson, he came to America, landed at New York, and made the trip to Arcadia Village, this county, by rail. Upon reaching here he had but $1.50. This he at once loaned to a friend, who spent it for drink and never paid it back. Beginning in a strange country, without a penny in his pocket, and with no resources save his own strength and intelligence, he started in to carve his fortune, working as a farm hand in the summers and as a woodsman in the winter. In 1889 he located seven miles east of Arcadia Village, in Newcomb's Valley, where he purchased 80 acres of land in section 29, Arcadia Township, to which he subsequently added the adjoining 160 acres in section 26. When he acquired the original tract no buildings had been erected, and only about ten or fifteen acres had been grubbed and broken. Beginning on a small scale he gradually achieved prosperity, and from time to time erected necessary buildings. The improvements on the place consist of a two-story house, erected in 1891, a good barn, 28 by 58 by 16 feet, a granary, a machine shed, a poultry house and other structures, all in the best of condition. Mr. Gilbertson devoted his time to general farming, having 150 acres under the plow and doing considerable dairying and swine raising. The Republican party claimed his allegiance, and his fraternal affiliation was with the Modern Woodmen of America. With his family he attended the Fagerness Norwegian Lutheran church, three miles east of his home, in the cemetery of which his remains were laid to rest. Mr. Gilbertson was married Sept. 16, 1889, to Julia Braaten, daughter of John and Randi Braaten of Valders, Norway. She came to America at the age of eighteen, and at the time of her marriage was living with a sister near Arcadia. She and her husband were the parents of four children: Alvilda, Laura F., Anna E. and Allen R. Alvilda was born July 5, 1889, and is the wife of Albert Jager of Castlewood, S. D. Laura F. was born Jan. 4, 1891, and is the wife of Melvin Wangan, who operates a farm in Newcomb Valley. Anna E. was born Sept. 19, 1892, graduated from the Arcadia high school, and is now a successful teacher. Allen R. was born July 4, 1894, and is now operating his father's farm, on which Mrs. Gilbertson still resides.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 695 - 696
John O. Gilbertson, who is successfully engaged in farming in section 33, Gale Township, was born in Lewis Valley, La Crosse County, Jan. 17, 1859, son of Ole and Olena (Larson) Gilbertson. His parents were born in Biried, Norway, the father Dec. 22, 1818, the mother in 1825. They were married in their native land and came to the United States in 1856, locating in Lewis Valley, La Crosse County, Wis. Ole Gilbertson, who was a farmer by occupation, soon afterwards bought land, but in 1860 he moved with his family to French Creek, in Ettrick Township, Trempealeau County. Here he was engaged in farming until his death, which occurred in 1898. His wife died Aug. 9, 1888. He was a prominent man and held office at various times, being school clerk for many years.
John O. Gilbertson was the youngest in a family of four children. He attended school in his boyhood at French Creek and afterwards the Galesville High School. Residing on the parental homestead until 22 years of age, he then became a land owner, buying a farm in Ettrick Township, which he operated for five years. He then engaged in mercantile business at Hale and later in Whitehall, being thus occupied for six years. At the end of that time he concluded to go back to farming, and accordingly purchased his present property at Frenchville, Gale Township, which consists of 80 acres of improved land, the improvements having been chiefly made by himself. These include his neat and comfortable residence, erected in 1910, and barns and other necessary buildings in 1905, the house being thoroughly modern in its appointments. Mr. Gilbertson devotes his whole time to his farm and is doing a prosperous business in this line. He is an independent Republican in politics and a member of the Lutheran Synod Church.
Oct. 22, 1879, John O. Gilbertson was united in marriage with Mina Helen Nelson, who was born in Biried, Norway, daughter of Borre and Bertha (Haslie) Nelson, natives of the same place. The parents were married in Norway, where the father was born July 29, 1821. They came to America in 1867, locating in Abrahams Valley, Gale Township,, where he engaged in farming, his occupation in the old country. He died April 28, 1898. His wife survived him nearly ten years, passing away in February, 1908. Their daughter, Mina Helen, was the third born in a family of six children, and was educated in Trempealeau County. Mr. and Mrs. Gilbertson have three children: Odell, a mail clerk in the employ of the Northwestern Railway, residing in Winona, who married Ida Thompson of that city; Ella Josephine, who is a teacher residing at home, and Celia Berenice, also residing at home, who has been a teacher for eight years, being now in her third year in the Frenchville school.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 330 - 331
Ole Gilbertson, proprietor of a 240-acre farm in section 22, Unity Township, and also of 188 acres in section 28, the same township, was born in Telemarken, Norway, Oct. 9, 1860, his father being Gilbert Olson, and his mother, before marriage, Thorild Nilson. Gilbert Olson was born in Norway in 1825 and passed the greater part of his life in his native land, coming to this country in 1898, when he was about 73 years old. He and his wife resided in Bruce Valley for six years and then removed to Hale Township, where Mr. Olson died in the spring of 1914. His wife now lives with her daughter, Mrs. John Lee, of Hale Township. Ole Gilbertson was a young man 20 years old when he came to the United States in 1880. He located in Arcadia, this county, and for about a year worked in the pineries and on farms. Then for six years he was engaged in farming in Bruce Valley, afterwards farming a place near Pleasanton one year. The next 20 years were spent by him on a farm in section 28, United [sic] Township, and at the end of that time he bought his present farm in section 22, moving onto it in the spring of 1914. This farm has good buildings, the house being a two-story frame structure with basement, and containing 12 rooms, lighted with gasoline and furnished with hot water heat and running water. The barn measures 48 by 105 by 16 feet above stone basement, and there are two solid cement silos, each 16 by 36 feet. Mr. Gilbertson is conducting a successful farming business and has already attained a considerable degree of prosperity. His present farm was purchased from Samuel R. Anderson and is a fine property. He is also a stockholder in the First State Bank of Strum. In June, 1890, Mr. Gilbertson was married to Tina Christopherson, who was born on the farm he owns in section 28, Unity Township, July 8, 1870, daughter of Paul and Anna (Olson) Christopherson, a memoir of whom may be found elsewhere in this volume. Mr. and Mrs. Gilbertson have seven children: Paul, Oscar, Theodore, Amanda, Melvin, Joseph and Ida, all residing at home.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 616 - 617
William S. Gilpin, editor and proprietor of the Osseo News, was born in Alexandria, Minn., Nov. 19, 1872, a son of Joseph and Sarah (Walker) Gilpin, the former of whom is a retired newspaper man. Of the four children in the family there are now living three: William S., the subject of this sketch; Mary T., an accomplished musician, a graduate of Carleton College at Northfield, Minn., and principal of the public schools of Hopkins, Minn., and Nellie, wife of Walter B. von Fredenburg, a traveling salesman living in Minneapolis. William S. Gilpin attended the public schools of Alexandria, and learned the printing and newspaper business in the office of the Douglas County News, then owned by his father. In 1891 he bought the Eagle Bend (Minn.) Pilot, and later the Browerville (Minn.) Citizen. In 1893 he moved the Citizen to Alexandria, and there published it until 1896. For two years he conducted Gilpin's X Rays at Hamilton, N. D. It was in 1898 that he came to Osseo, and purchased the Osseo Weekly Recorder. In 1911 he sold out. The next year he established the Osseo News, which on Jan. 1, 1915, absorbed the Recorder. From 1903 to 1915 he was postmaster at Osseo. For one term he served on the village council. He has also done good service on the library board. By helping to organized the Osseo Telephone Company he assisted in making possible a valuable modern improvement. Mr. Gilpin was married Oct. 3, 1893, to Evelyn M. Abbot, of Eagle Bend, Minn., the daughter of Benjamin and Mary (Crichton) Abbott, both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Gilpin have three children: Myle de Vere, born March 3, 1897; Selby A., born June 4, 1898, now in United States navy and Beatrice, born Aug. 7, 1901.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 616
Rev. Lars M. Gimmestad, pastor of the Norwegian Lutheran Synod Church in Galesville, Wis., and also president of Gale College, was born in Nordfjord, Bergenhus Amt., the west central province of Norway, Jan. 20, 1868. He is a son of Mons M. and Anna (Vasenden) Gimmestad, both of whom were natives of the same province. The father, a stone mason and carpenter by trade, died in Norway in 1878, and his widow subsequently came to the United States, settling with her family of five sons in Redwood County, Minn., where she died in 1907.
Lars M. Gimmestad, who was the youngest member of the family, acquired his elementary education partly in Norway and partly in Redwood County, Minn. by the time he was 14 years of age he was practically earning his own living, which he did by herding cattle, and later working on a farm for an older brother. In the meanwhile he entered Luther College, at Decorah, Iowa, which he attended for seven years, continuing to work on the farm during his vacations. After graduating from this institution he entered Luther Seminary, at Minneapolis, where he studied theology for three years, during this period teaching parochial school and assisting other pastors. He was ordained July 22, 1894, at Eau Claire, Wis., and for one year subsequently was in charge of a congregation there. From that time until the fall of 1901 he had charge of congregations in Dane, Columbia and Trempealeau counties, becoming pastor of the church at Galesville. In the year last mentioned he took up his residence in Galesville in order to become president of Gale College, which at that time was transferred to Lutheran hands. This office he has since held, devoting most of his time to it, though still remaining pastor of the Lutheran congregation here, thus making twenty-three years of continuous service. Much of his life has been devoted to teaching, and he has administered the affairs of the college in an efficient manner, maintaining a high scholastic standard and a Christian atmosphere conducive to the moral and spiritual growth of the students. Politically he is an independent Democrat.
Mr. Gimmestad was married July 22, 1896, to Amalie Anderson, who was born in Dane County, Wis., daughter of Hans and Oline (Hanson) Anderson. Her parents, who were natives of Norway, came to America about 1873, locating first in Dane County. a few years later they removed to Eau Claire, Wis., where Mr. Anderson was employed in a shoe factory, and where he subsequently died. His widow is still residing in that city. Mr. and Mrs. Gimmestad are the parents of six children: Marie Helen, Agnes Olava, Herman, Laura Matilda, Bernard Oscar and Victor Edward. Mr. Gimmestad owns his own residence and also a number of acres of land in the vicinity of Galesville.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 306
Benjamin F. Gipple, a pioneer merchant, was born in Scipio, Cayuga County, N. Y., April 26, 1827, of substantial Pennsylvania-Dutch ancestry. He spent his early life in the East, and after learning farming from his father, was apprenticed to a builder, who taught hi the carpenter's trade. In 1856 he came West, and located at Hokah, Minn., where he was employed for a year at his trade. In 1857 he went to La Crosse, and started work for Mons Anderson, at that time conducting the largest mercantile establishment in the Northwest. In this concern his promotion was rapid, and in a short time he was given charge of all the sales force of the large establishment. During his years in this employ, he gained experience and won the confidence of the people to the extent that he was enabled to open a store of his own. Subsequently he owned stores in Montello, Marquette County, and in North Bend, Jackson County, in which latter place he served as postmaster. In 1889 he came to Galesville and opened a store which he conducted until 1908, when he retired. He died Jan. 7, 1911. It was one of the deep regrets of Mr. Gipple's life that he could not serve in the Civil War. He enlisted twice, and was twice rejected, and was subsequently drafted, but was again rejected, the rejections being due to an injury which he had received early in life. While Mr. Gipple was not a practicing attorney, he took a deep interest in the law from the time of his earliest boyhood, and was well versed in legal procedure. He was a justice of the peace for some fifty years, and in this time handed down hundreds of decisions which met with the praise and approval of many distinguished jurists.
Mr. Gipple married Mary Ann Snure in May, 1849. She died Aug. 6, 1862. To this union were born six children, five of whom are living at this date. He married Emily Ruth Bradshaw June 2, 1865. She was born in Indiana Oct. 9, 1843. There were born to this second marriage three sons, Benjamin F., Bert Allen and William B., and one daughter, Mayme, who died at the age of 31. Mrs. Gipple died March 21, 1917.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 302 - 303
Bert A. Gipple, journalist and man of affairs, editor of the Galesville Republican for twenty-five years, has taken an active part in every move that has for its object the upbuilding, development and betterment of the community. Few men are better known in the county. He is a native of this State, born in La Crosse, Wis., Dec. 16, 1870, son of Benjamin F. and Emily R. (Bradshaw) Gipple. At the age of seventeen he became shipping clerk in a wholesale house in La Crosse. In 1890 he began his journalistic career as a printer's assistant on the Galesville Independent. His first reportorial work was done under W. R. Finch, on the La Crosse Republican and Leader in 1892. In 1893 he took charge of the editorial department of the Prairie du Chien Union. Subsequently he was employed on the Mondovi Herald, and then returned to Galesville, where he worked on the Independent. In 1896 he took charge of the Cumberland Advocate in the absence of its publisher. Again returning to Galesville later in the same year, he opened a job printing office. He founded the Galesville Republican in 1897, and in 1908 on the organization of the Republican Printing Company he was the principal stockholder. The company absorbed the old Galesville Independent, and now has the only newspaper and job printing plant in the village. Mr. Gipple is a high degree Mason, belonging to the Blue Lodge at Galesville, and the Chapter and Council at La Crosse. He was appointed Grand Steward at the communication of the Grand Lodge in 1916. He was a charter member of the Galesville Colony of Beavers. He was married July 28, 1893, to Emma J. Sagen, daughter of Ole N. and Ella (Trondson) Sagen, and they have one daughter, Dorris C. Mrs. Gipple was educated in the schools of Galesville, and in Gale College. The daughter graduated from the Galesville High School in 1914, and from the La Crosse Normal School in 1916. She has the unusual record of having attended school for eleven years without being absent or tardy. At this date she is a teacher in the public schools of Sparta, Wis.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 303 - 304
George Gjuul has lived in this county as manager of the Midland Lumber & Coal Company at Osseo since Jan. 4, 1912. In advocating better farm buildings he has assisted in the development of the surrounding rural region, while his work for the progress of Osseo has included his efforts toward the organization of the Farmers Exchange Bank, of which he is now one of the directors. His fraternal affiliations are with the A. F. & A. M. Mr. Gjuul was born in Mankato, Minn., May 13, 1874, the youngest in a family of three children. As a youth he worked with his father. At the age of twenty-four he secured employment in a hardware store at Erskine, Minn. A year and a half later he took up his present line of work as manager for the Stenerson Brothers Lumber Yard at Menton, Minn. Six years later he became manager for the Lamper Lumber Company at Ruthton, Minn. Subsequently he occupied a similar position for the H. W. Ross Lumber Company at Hancock, Minn., for the Glattley Lumber Company at Hot Springs, S. D., and for the John J. Queal Lumber Company at Leeds, Sioux City, Iowa. With this experience he came to Osseo. Mr. Gjuul was married April 25, 1906, to Elva Williams, of Amboy, Minn., daughter of Cyrus and Mary Nixon, the former of whom died in 1914 at the age of 72 and the latter of whom died in 1916 at the age of 70. Torris F. Gjuul, father of the subject of this sketch, was born at Trondjem, Norway, came to America, and after living at Stevens Point, Wis., a year, located in Mankato, where he became a successful contractor and builder. In later years carried on farming at Mankato, Minn., and died Feb. 26, 1906. He married Randi Dahl, who lives in Texarkana, Tex., with her son Frank.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 614
Arthur Glassford, proprietor of a good farm in section 27, Gale Township, was born on this farm, March 10, 1876, son of Walter and Jane (Oliver) Glassford. the father was a native of Glasgow, Scotland, and when quite a young man learned the moulder's trade. When about 18 or 19 years old he came to America, locating in Illinois and was for some time in the employ of the McCormick Company, manufacturers of agricultural implements. This was before the Civil War, and when that great struggle came on, Walter Glassford enlisted in Company B, ________ Wisconsin Volunteers, being at that time a resident of Gale Township. During the war, his term of service having expired, he enlisted a second time and served until its close. He was never wounded, but was in the hospital for awhile as a result of an accidental injury. Returning to Wisconsin at the close of his military career, he located on the farm now owned by his son in section 27, Gale Township, and lying about a mile and a half east of Galesville. Here he devoted his time to agriculture and the improvement of his property, the farm containing 120 acres, and was thus engaged until 1892, when on account of his health he had to give up active work. His death took place March 14, 1895. His wife Jane, who was born at Augusta, Maine, and who he married in Gale Township, died many years before him, about 1876. Walter Glassford was a man highly respected. Though he never aspired to public office, he served on the board of education for about 20 years, acting as treasurer. He and his wife had three children, of whom Arthur was the youngest.
Arthur Glassford was educated in the district school in Gale Township. He was 16 years old when his father's health failed, and from that time on he took practical charge of the farm, becoming its proprietor on the father's death three years later. He has since operated it continuously, with the exception of a period of two years, during which he rented it out to a tenant. Some important improvements have also been made by him, including the erection of the present fine dwelling, with modern equipment, in 1906, and a substantial barn built in 1913. Mr. Glassford is engaged largely as a dairy farmer, though raising the usual crops, and he has met with good success. He is independent in politics, and is school director in his district, but has not otherwise been officially active. He takes, however, a keen interest in the welfare and progress of the community, and is always willing to do his part as a good citizen.
Mr. Glassford was married Nov. 26, 1902, to Dora De Young, who was born in Holland, May 22, 1883, daughter of Garman and Catherine (Post) De Young. Her parents came to the United States with their family in 1884, settling at Amsterdam, La Crosse County, Wis., where Mr. De Young engaged in farming. He is now retired and he and his wife reside at La Crosse. Mr. and Mrs. Glassford have one child: Beatrice Gertrude, born March 6, 1904.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 328 - 329
Andrew Gleason, who is engaged in farming 125 acres of productive land in sections 20, 29 and 30, Arcadia Township, was born in Bill's Valley, this township, June 2, 1866, son of Michael and Mary (Cashel) Gleason. His parents were both natives of Ireland, the father coming to America about 1861, and locating in Buffalo County, Wis. After residing there about five years, Michael Gleason, who had come to this country with some means, purchased 250 acres in Buffalo County. Of this latter farm he subsequently sold 130 acres, and then moved to Bill's Valley, Arcadia Township, Trempealeau County, being one of the first settlers in the valley. The remainder of his Buffalo county farm he retained until 1882, when he sold it. In Bill's Valley he homesteaded 40 acres, and bought 165 acres adjoining the Christ Haines farm. The land was wild and there were no improvements, but he set to work and grubbed and cleared it, having six yoke of oxen, Which he had brought with him. The frame house that he built is still standing on the farm. The lumber for it and other buildings that he constructed was hauled from Merrillan, 50 miles, by ox-team. Among these buildings was a good barn, the timber for which he cut and hewed in Tamarack. Here Michael Gleason resided until 1893, and then moved to Arcadia Village, where he purchased a house in which he lived until his death in 1911. His wife died in Arcadia Village March 25, 1915. They had been married in Buffalo County, Wis., in 1858, an had enjoyed a happy married life together of 53 years until death separated them for a while. Their children were: Maggie, now Mrs. J. D. Stevens, of Beecher, Ill.; Mary Ann, who died in infancy; Julia, now Mrs. S. R. Hunter, of Arcadia Village; Andrew, the direct subject of this sketch; Christian, who is a farmer in Buffalo County, Wis.; Katherine, who is an invalid; Elizabeth, unmarried, who is now living in the village home of her parents, which she inherited at their death; May, wife of J. J. Enwright, of Plymouth, Wis.; John L., residing in Gymon, Okla., and Anna, wife of L. F. Messman, of Enid, Okla. Michael Gleason was a staunch Democrat in politics, but never aspired to public office. Andrew Gleason was brought up on his parents' farm, on which he began to make himself useful at an early age, gradually acquiring a competent knowledge of agriculture. He was married April 14, 1896, to Mary, daughter of Joseph and Anna (Scholidon) Kostner, of Arcadia Township, and for two years subsequently he and his wife resided on his father's "Bill's Valley" farm. In 1898 he moved to a rented farm at Glencoe, Buffalo County, whee he lived until 1902, in which year he purchased 200 acres of land in the same neighborhood. After keeping the latter farm one year he sold it and bought 125 acres of improved land in sections 20, 29 and 30, Arcadia Township, which constitutes his present farm. In 1917 he remodelled the brick house and frame barn. The barn was struck by lightning and destroyed Sept. 6, 1916. It was rebuilt the same fall, on the same foundation. The entire acreage of the farm is now under the plow. Mr. Gleason carries on general farming and dairying, keeping from 10 to 12 grade Shorthorn cows. He is well supplied with all equipment for a modern farm and is doing a prosperous business. His property lies about a mile and a half northwest of Arcadia Village, the land being very rolling, like all in this vicinity, but fertile and capable of producing excellent crops. In politics Mr. Gleason is a Republican, and has served as a member of the district school board and as chairman of the township board. He and his wife have had five children: Gladys, born Oct. 18, 1897, who graduated from the Arcadia High School and is now teaching in Trempealeau County; Clifford J., born Sept. 19, 1900, who is a student in Arcadia High School; Kenneth, born July 31, 1910, who died in 1912; Gerald, born Sept 27, 1911, and Melvin L., born July 20, 1912, who reside with their parents. Mr. Gleason and family belong to the Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Help at Arcadia. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 722 - 723
Alletta Dixon Goodhue, editor and proprietor of the Trempealeau Herald, is a native of this village. She received a high school education, which was supplemented by instruction in painting and music. Afterwards she became identified with the business interests of the town in the book and stationery line, in which she has since continued. Later she entered the field of journalism by purchasing the Herald from her brother. While others sought new and, as they thought, more promising fields elsewhere, she has remained in her home town, and now has the satisfaction of knowing that she has been fully as successful as most of those who have tried other locations. In its infancy the Herald was published under a leased roof, as are most of the newspapers in the county today, but is now issued every week from its own building and is operated on a paying basis. This happy result has been achieved by devotion to clean journalism and close attention to business on the part of its proprietor, who not only edits the paper and attends to its business management, but also superintends its mechanical production, and, if necessary, can set type and get out the paper alone. By reason of her artistic ability she can also illustrate local or general events, doing all the work herself. The Herald is Republican in politics and is on the high road to prosperity.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 789
Francis Asbury Goodhue in former years was one of the leading merchants of Trempealeau Village, where he was highly esteemed as a man and citizen. His father was one of those itinerant preachers of the Methodist denomination known as "circuit riders," who had so much to do with civilizing the frontier settlements at various states of this country's history. Francis early learned the trades of millwright and cabinetmaker. On Oct. 29, 1852, he married Alsina Manning, who was born in Russeltown (now Frankfort), Canada, June 23, 1835, daughter of Abram and Anna Manning. Abram Manning had died in 1841, when she was six years old, and she had then come to the states, going to live with a cousin at Moores, Clinton County, New York, which place was her home up to the time of her marriage and for two years after that event. Her mother, on coming to the states, located in Springfield, Ill., later moving to Chicago. Francis A. Goodhue and wife resided at Moores until 1854 and then went to Jericho, Vt., which was his old home town. In 1856 they joined the tide of westward emigration, locating in Trempealeau Village, Trempealeau County, Wis., where Mr. Goodhue followed the trades of millwright and cabinetmaker until 1862. During that time he built several mills on Black River, near La Crosse. After 1862 he confined himself to carpenter and cabinet work, and later entered into partnership with A. P. Ford and opened a furniture business on Front street, Trempealeau Village. This partnership was continued for about four years, at the end of which time Mr. Goodhue sold his interest in the business to Mr. Ford. He then opened a book and stationery store, and though burned out in the "big fire" he reopened the store and continued in the business until 1888, when his health failed. On June 29, 1900, he passed away and was buried in the family lot in Trempealeau Cemetery. Mr. Goodhue was an active and useful member of the Congregational church, which he had joined in his youth, serving it as deacon for a number of years and taking a leading part in all its affairs. He was also warmly interested in the growth and development of the village, which he could remember in its early stages, as he had often killed bear and deer immediately in front of where the family residence now stands. His aid and influence as a business man and well-to-do citizen were always to be depended upon on behalf of any feasible project for the public good. His life was unselfish and there were few men in Trempealeau, if any, who were more highly esteemed or whose loss was more deeply regretted. Mrs. Goodhue was a member of the Congregational church, to which her husband belonged, almost since its organization. She and her husband were the parents of six children: Sarah Eunice, who died in infancy; Edwin Francis, Elbert Newton, Beard, Alletta D. and a babe, unnamed, that died in infancy. Edwin F., who was in the railway mail service for a number of years, is now living in Helena, Mont., being retired from active work. Elbert N., who was for a time editor of the Trempealeau Herald and for 18 years district court stenographer in Winona, Wabash and Rochester, Minn., died in Winona, Jan. 10, 1916, and is buried in Trempealeau Cemetery. Beard, also deceased, is buried there. Alletta, who is editor and proprietor of the Trempealeau Herald, resides at home with her mother.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 788 - 789
August E. Goplin came to Trempealeau County as a boy, and has resided on his present farm located in sections 16 and 17, township 23, range 7 (Hale), since 1889. It now contains 440 acres of good, fertile land and is one of the best in the vicinity, his buildings being his especial pride. The pleasant home was built in 1897. It is a frame structure, two stories high, with 12 rooms and a full basement, supplied with running water, hot water heat, acetylene lights and other conveniences. The barn was built in 1916. It is 48 by 80 by 14 feet, with a stone basement, and an addition 22 by 36 by 12, for horses. The floors are of cement, the stalls are equipped with steel stalls and stanchions, the interior is lighted with acetylene, and there are pens for the young calves, and a special hospital pen. Among the other buildings may be mentioned a barn for young stock, 26 by 66 by 20 feet. Mr. Goplin carries on general farming and makes a specialty of raising Durham cattle, at which he has been very successful. While busy with his farm duties, Mr. Goplin has found time to take an interest in public affairs, and has done excellent service on the school board for two years. He was married Dec. 15, 1888, to Beatha Steig, who was born Dec. 24, 1868, in section 23, range 7, township 23 (Hale), laughter of Christian and Ingeborg (Anderson) Steig, and this union has been blessed with six children: Edward, Inga, Emma, Charles, Mildred and Ernest. Edward was born Jan. 6, 1890, and was married sept. 2, 1916, to Ella Eid, daughter of Gilbert Eid, of Pigeon Township. He works with his father on the farm. Inga was born March 23, 1892, and is a stenographer. Emma was born June 21, 1895; Charles, Nov. 19, 1898; Mildred, Dec. 3, 1804, and Ernest, May 23, 1907. All living at home. Mr. Goplin is a native of Norway, where he was born Aug. 1, 1857, son of Eric O. and Eli (Roen) Goplin. The father, Eric O., was born in Norway, Aug. 14, 1805, came to America in 1867, lived in Rock County a while, and in 1869 came to Trempealeau County and took a homestead in section 14, range7, township 23 (Hale), where he labored until his death in 1883. The mother was born in Norway, Sept. 30, 1827, came to America with her husband, and died May 14, 1914. The family are members of the Norwegian Lutheran Church of America.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 652 - 653
Ludwig O. Goplin. Among the farmers of Gale Township who are recognized as successful men in their branch of industry is the subject of this sketch, whose farm of 220 acres is situated in sections 3, 14, 23 and 24, town 23 north, range 7 west. Here Mr. Goplin was born Jan. 27, 1883, son of Olaus E. and Mathia (Benrud) Goplin, the homestead having been in the family since the time of the grandfather, who settled on it in 1869. Olaus E. Goplin, who was born in Norway in 1861, purchased 80 acres of the farm and lived on it many years, dying in December, 1901. He added to his land until the farm comprised 220 acres. His wife, also a native of Norway, survived him about a year and four months, passing away in April, 1903. Ludwig O. Goplin worked on the old home farm for his parents from his boyhood until his father's death, and afterwards for his mother until she, too, died. He then rented the farm from the heirs for five years, buying it in April, 1915. Here he is carrying on general farming and dairying, keeping graded Durham and Holstein cattle, of which he has 35 head, milking 20. The residence on the farm is a good two-story and basement frame house of 10 rooms. A man of progressive nature, in 1902 Mr. Goplin built a round barn, 64 feet in diameter, and 26 feet to the eaves, and in 1915 he erected a stave silo, 14 by 34 feet. He is a stockholder in the Pigeon Grain and Stock Company and also in the Whitehall Hospital. Since 1913 he has served as treasurer of the school board. His religious affiliations are with the United Norwegian Lutheran church, of Pigeon Falls, of which he is a member, and of which his father was secretary from the time of its organization until his death. Dec. 10, 1910, Mr. Goplin was united in marriage with Ruth Mortenson, of Whitehall, Wis., who was born in Pigeon Township, this county, Sept. 15, 1887. Her father, Hans H. Mortenson, who was born near Hammerfest, Norway, Sept 15, 1836, is now residing in Whitehall. her mother was born in Norway, Jan. 11, 1847, and is now living in Whitehall. Mr. and Mrs. Goplin have two children: Margaret Alverne, born Oct. 15, 1911, and Obert Harvey, born Oct. 27, 1913.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 517
Ole Granrud, a pioneer of Trempealeau County in 1868, was a native of Norway, where he married Karen Anderson. In 1866 he came with his wife and family to the United States, locating first in Fillmore County, Minnesota, whence he soon came to Trempealeau County, taking a homestead of 120 acres in section 4, Hale Township, he being the first settler in the South Branch District. He and his family began life here in true pioneer style, living the first summer in a dug-out with lumber roof, the lumber for which was obtained at Hamburg. In the fall Mr. Granrud built a larger dug-out, with lumber, hay and sod roof, in which he and his family resided until 1874, when, his circumstances having improved, he built a fine house. In 1893 he sold the farm and for the next three years he and his wife resided with their daughter, Mrs. Jacob Pederson. At the end of that time he bought a farm in Sumner Township, onto which he moved, and which he operated for about seven years. He then returned to his daughter's home, where he died in 1900. His wife survived him but a short time, dying in 1902. Their children were: Elle, now deceased; Andrew, deceased; Anne, wife of Jacob Pederson, and Ole, now living in Tacoma, Wash.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 603
Duncan Grant, a prosperous agriculturist operating a farm of 274 acres in section 5-32 E, Gale Township, was born on the farm on which he now lives, Feb. 1, 1870, son of Duncan and Elizabeth (Dick) Grant. His parents were natives of Ayrshire, Scotland, the father born March 5, 1837, and the mother about 1847. Duncan Grant, the elder, came to America in 1851, locating first in Kentucky, in which state he resided three or four years, and then came to Trempealeau County, Wis. He was married in Gale Township and settled on the farm now owned by his son and namesake, and engaged in agriculture. Here he resided until 1913, when he took up his residence with his son-in-law, Andrew Cook, of Gale Township, where he is now living. His wife died about 1881. They were the parents of eight children.
Duncan Grant, the second of the name, was the fourth born child in his parents' family. He attended the Grant school in district No. 7, Gale Township, and was at an early age initiated into agricultural work, being set to work as soon as he could handle a team. Before he was of age he took charge of the farm and has since operated it, becoming its owner by purchase when he was 29 years old. He is engaged in general farming and stockraising, and is doing a large and profitable business. He is a stockholder in the Arctic Springs Creamery, the Farmers Exchange Elevator and the La Crosse Packing Company. April 25, 1906, Mr. Grant was married to Henrietta Lowner, a native of Holland and daughter of Martin and Helen (Bymers) Lowner. Her parents, who were both born in Holland, came to the United States about 1893, locating near Amsterdam, in La Crosse County, where Mr. Lowner found employment on farms, and where he died about 1902. His wife now resides at Council Bay, that county. They had seven children, Henrietta being the fourth in order of birth. Mr. and Mrs. Grant are the parents of four children: Helen Elizabeth, Russell Vernon, Thomas Glenn and Arvilla May. He belongs to the order of Beavers and in politics is an independent Republican.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 491-492
Robert Grant, a retired farmer now living in Gale Township, Wisconsin, where he is well known and respected, was born near Glasgow, Scotland, Aug. 11, 1845. His parents were Thomas and Elizabeth (Gibb) Grant, who were natives of the same locality. The father in early life was a coal miner. In 1851 he came to this country with his family, locating at Peach Orchard, Lawrence County, Ky., on the Big Sandy River. There he resided for three or four year at the end of which time he moved to Ohio. A year later he made another removal, this time to West Columbia, W. Va., where he spent six or eight months. He then came to Trempealeau County, locating on the farm where his son Robert now lives, and here he was engaged in agriculture until his death in 1869. He and his family were among the earliest settlers in this locality. The mother survived her husband 20 years, passing away in 1889.
Robert Grant was the third born in a family of four children. In his boyhood he attended the Grant school in the seventh district, which was named for the family, his attendance, however, being short. He resided with his parents until he was 21 years old, at which time he went to Rock Island, Ill., where he engaged in mining, being thus occupied, however, for but a short time, and at intervals spending the summers on the home farm. He thus continued until his marriage, at which time he bought a part of his present farm. Later he became full owner of the homestead and engaged in general farming, from time to time making necessary improvements, most of those now standing having been put up by him. About 1912 Mr. Grant turned over the farm to his son-in-law, but still resides on it. He is a stockholder in the Arctic Springs Creamery Company, the Farmers Exchange Elevator and the Independent Harvester Company, of Plano, Ill.
Nov. 3, 1868, Mr. Grant was married to Jane Dick, who was born in Scotland, daughter of William and Rosana (Neil) Dick, her parents coming to the United States in 1846. He and his wife have seven children: Thomas, who is a farmer, single, and resided with his parents; Rose Ann, widow of Louis Bornitz, residing in Winona, Minn., who has three children: Laura Marie, Robert LeRoy and Arvilla May; Elizabeth Margaret, wife of Joseph Stellpflug; William D.; Mae Hazel, wife of William Byrne, a farmer, who has three children: Maud Eleanor, Edna Mae and Rose Bernice; Maud Eleanor, now deceased, who was the wife of Alexander Schwartzhoff of Gale Township, and William, who died in infancy.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 503-504
William D. Grant of Gale Township was born at Decorah Prairie, Gale Township, April 4, 1876, son of Robert and Jane (Dick) Grant. He was educated in the Grant school on Decorah Prairie, and resided at home until his marriage in February, 1902, to Matilda Larson. She was born at Hardie's Creek Valley, Gale Township, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Mat Larson, her parents being natives of Norway, who were early settlers in Trempealeau County, Mr. Larson being a farmer. He died about 1902; his wife, Mrs. Grant's mother, is still living and resides at Hardie's Creek, of which place she is a well known and respected resident. Her husband also was well known and esteemed for his industry and good neighborly qualities. At the time of his marriage Mr. Grant rented the farm on which he now lives, which contains 238 acres and which is a part of the old Grant estate and which he now owns. He carries on general farming and is doing a successful business. Mr. and Mrs. Grant have two children: William Guy, born Nov. 9, 1908, and Gladys Marie, born in 1910.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 504
George W. Graul, proprietor of the Maple Lawn Dairy Farm of 320 acres in sections 22 and 26, Burnside Township, has a large and well equipped place which will compare favorably with the best in the county. He is an excellent type of the modern farmer, and conducts his operations along the latest approved lines, taking pride in the appearance of his hoe, his barns, his farm and his stock. He was born in Fond du Lac County, this State, Jan. 24, 1877, son of Emil and Caroline (Schedler) Graul, the former of whom was born in Milwaukee, Sept. 2, 1845, and the latter in Germany, Dec. 13, 1846. Emil Graul, although born in Milwaukee, was reared in Sauk County, this State. He subsequently lived two years in Fond du Lac and three years in Winona, Minn. In 1881 he bought the farm now operated by his son George W. and conducted it until the spring of 1905, when he and his wife retired and went to live in Independence. George W. Graul was reared from early childhood on his parents' homestead, on which he found abundant opportunity to become acquainted with agricultural methods, finally developing into a good, practical farmer. For a number of years he helped his father and then in 1905, rented the home farm, operating it on that basis until 1915. In the latter year he bought the quarter section in section 26, but rents the other quarter section in section 22 from his father. The residence on his property was built in 1893, and is a frame two-story and basement dwelling, well constructed and convenient. In 1916 a barn was built, 40 by 140 by 14 feet above stone basement, with cement floors, having room for 100 head of cattle and 20 horses. The south side of the basement is composed entirely of windows, giving an abundance of light. All the buildings on the farm are also lighted with electricity from Mr. Graul's own plant. The silo is of frame construction, 18 by 30 feet in dimensions. Mr. Graul raises graded Holstein cattle, having a herd of 60 head, of which he milks 30. he also has 50 head of Poland-China hogs, feeds 200 head of sheep a year, and keeps Buff Leghorn chickens and Toulouse geese. His farm is all fenced with woven wire fencing 42 inches high. April 7, 1905, Mr. Graul was united in marriage with Annie Loretz, of Buffalo County, Wis., daughter of John and Salome (Loretz) Loretz, the former of whom died in 1915, and the latter in 1904. Mr. and Mrs. Graul have three children, born as follows: Morris, June 12, 1906; Emil, June 6, 1908, and Laura, Oct. 11, 1911. The family are members of the German Evangelical Church, of which Mr. Graul was formerly a steward, also teaching a class in the Sunday school. Since 1898 he has been school clerk of his district.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 707
Fred Warren Graves, secretary and manager of the Cooper & Graves Lumber Company, Trempealeau, dealers in lumber, building material, posts, wire fencing, feed, grain, flour and other supplies, is one of the progressive business men of the village, and has developed an important industry. He was born near Granite Falls, Chippewa County, Minn., Sept. 13, 1873, son of Warren A. and Sarah (Metcalf) Graves, now living in Trempealeau. He passed through the country schools and spent three years in the Granite Falls high school. As a young man he was variously employed. In 1893 he went to Salt Lake City, Utah, and was employed there for about two years by Nolton & Graves, paper hangers and decorators. Since 1895 he has lived continuously in Trempealeau Village. In the fall of that year he entered the employ of his father in a general store, and two years later was received into partnership, the firm name becoming W. A. Graves & Son. Selling his interest in this establishment in the fall of 1906 to E. L. Atwood, he purchased a warehouse in Trempealeau, and became a grain dealer, buying, storing and shipping on a large scale. While thus engaged he was impressed with the opportunities for a good lumber yard, in combination with the grain business, so he organized the Cooper & Graves Lumber Company. This company was incorporated Feb. 18, 1907, with a capital of $25,000, and with W. E. Cooper as president, F. W. Graves as secretary and manager, Linnie U. Cooper as vice-president, and E. W. Graves as treasurer. This company absorbed the business of F. W. Graves at the time of organization, and that of William Merwin in May of the same year, and has since been without competition. Mr. Graves, in addition to his holdings in his concern, has a pleasant home on West Second street, which he bought in the spring of 1900, and renovated and remodeled it so that he was enabled to move in that fall. He is a stockholder in the Citizens State Bank. An enthusiastic booster, he is a thorough believer in the future of the village, and is always ready to do his share for every worthy project. His fraternal relations are with Modern Woodmen. He has been a member of the Congregational church since he was a youth of fifteen years. His wife and two children are also members of that church, his son having joined at the age of 14 years. Mr. Graves was married Sept. 1, 1898, to Edna May Utter, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth Utter of Trempealeau Village. Mr. and Mrs. Graves have two children: Clyde Warren, born Sept. 7, 1899, and Elizabeth May, Jan. 28, 1904.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 507 - 508
Warren A. Graves, a highly respected citizen of Trempealeau, now living retired, was born at Walpole, N. H., Oct. 16, 1841, son of Aaron M. and Abigail (Sanderson) Graves. The parents, who were natives and farmers of New Hampshire, are both now deceased. Warren A. acquired his education in the "little red schoolhouse" in the State of his birth, and there grew to manhood, remaining on the farm until 20 years of age. On starting out in life for himself he accepted a position as attendant at the Concord, N. H., Insane Asylum, and was thus occupied for two years. He then wen to Boston, Mass., and was there employed in the New England Glass Factory. He also delivered express in Brookline, a suburb of Boston, driving from Boston. In 1864 he returned to New Hampshire and accepted a position as superintendent of the West Mooreland Poor Farm, at West Mooreland, N. H. In 1866 he migrated west to Trempealeau County, Wis., and for one year was engaged in farming in Dodge Township. He then removed to Winona County, Minn., and purchased a farm in Wiscoy Township. Four years later he sold that farm and removed to Chippewa County, Minn., taking a government homestead of 160 acres, which he cultivated and developed, erecting buildings, and becoming one of the leading farmers of the county. He served as county commissioner of Chippewa County for three years and for a long time did the assessing of the unorganized townships of the county, being appointed to do this work by the county commissioners. After his township (Stoneham) was organized, he became chairman of the town board and also held other offices. From 1882 until 1894 he lived in Granite Falls and was salesman for agricultural implements. In 1894 he moved with his family to Trempealeau Village and purchased a store building, putting in a line of general merchandise, with J. C. Utter as an equal partner, the firm name being Utter & Graves. In 1895 Mr. Graves purchased the utter interest and conducted the business alone for one year. His next partner was his son, Fred W., who purchased a half interest, and the firm became W. A. Graves & Son. This partnership continued for seven years, when Fred W. sold out his interest to E. L. Atwood and the firm became Graves & Atwood, which it remained until 1913. The Atwood interest was then purchased by C. H. Growt and for one year the firm was Graves & Growt. In January, 1914, Mr. Graves sold out and the stock was removed to the Trempealeau Mercantile's building, of which Mr. Growt is manager. Mr. Graves then retired and later disposed of his building. On coming to Trempealeau he purchased his present home, where he has since continued to live.
Mr. Graves served as a member of the board of education in Granite Falls and is now a member of the Trempealeau Village Council. Mr. Graves was married at East Cambridge, Mass., Feb. 20, 1864, to Sarah Metcalf, who was born Sept. 9, 1843, who in all their married life has proved a faithful wife and loving mother. To them have been born five children: Lester H., Idella, Fred W., Mabel and Cora. Lester H., born Jan. 3, 1868, and died at Salt Lake City, Utah, Oct. 21, 1895. Idella, born Dec. 19, 1870, who for eight years taught in the high school at Trempealeau, subsequently graduated from the Chicago Dental College, and is now a dentist at Cleveland, Ohio, where she has been located for the past seven years, and in her work stands in high repute. Fred W. was born Sept. 13, 1873. Mabel, born Dec. 11, 1874, is now Mrs. Fred C. Ford, of Trempealeau, was before her marriage for eight years a proficient teacher. She has six children: Lester, a student at the State University at Madison; Ruth, Lyle and Lynn (twins), Fred C., Jr., and Charles. Cora, born Nov. 23, 1883, was graduated from the Trempealeau High School and the Winona State Normal School, subsequently entered the State School for Deaf and Dumb at Milwaukee, from which she graduated, and was retained there to teach for three years. She married Wallace Hannaman, then principal of the Durkee School at Kenosha. He later accepted a position at the State University at Madison, and there Cora died in June, 1914, leaving no children. Mr. Graves is deacon in the Congregational church at Trempealeau and chairman of its board of trustees. He is a stockholder in the Citizens' State Bank, also president of the Trempealeau Cemetery Association, and a member of Trempealeau Lodge, No. 117, A. F. & A. M. Both Mr. and Mrs. Graves are members of the Congregational church, of which Mrs. Graves is a member of the Ways and Means Society. Both Mr. and Mrs. Graves are interested in church work and are liberal supporters to that benevolent cause.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 510 - 512
Archeaus Grover, one of the notable pioneers of Trempealeau Village, and the first sheriff of Trempealeau County, came to the West from New England, having been born in Bethel, Maine, Nov. 19, 1832. When an infant he accompanied his parents to Chemung County, New York, they settling at a place known locally as Martin's Hill. When he was 14 the family moved to Waupun, Wis., where the subject of this sketch resided until 1849. In that year, though only 17 years of age, he left home and walked to La Crosse, Wis., then only a trading post, where he assisted in building the first frame house, the only other white man in the place being a man named Nathan Merrick. Young Grover stayed at La Crosse but a short time, going from there to Brownsville, Iowa, where he learned raft piloting from a certain William Richmand. In the same year - 1849 - he returned to Wisconsin and located in Trempealeau Village, which then consisted of a few houses occupied mostly by half-breed hunters and trappers with several small farmers. Here Mr. Grover engaged in buying furs from the Indians, which occupation he followed for several years. Later he assisted in the survey of northern Wisconsin. On April 13, 1855, he purchased land from the government in sections 26 and 27, Trempealeau township. He now set to work to develop a farm, buying adjoining land from time to time until he owned 328 acres in one farm, also considerable other land. On this place he resided until 1885, at which time he removed into Trempealeau Village, which was his subsequent home until his death, Oct. 2, 1912, by accident. Nearly 80 years old, and somewhat hard of hearing, he was walking home from Winona on the Burlington Railway tracks, when he was struck by a train about two miles west of Trempealeau Village, his body being found the next morning. Mr. Grover was a man of kindly, just and generous character, though resolute, and was greatly beloved by practically all who knew him. In 1872 he joined the Baptist church of Trempealeau, of which he was a member at the time of his death. He was married in Trempealeau Village, July 8, 1855, to Esther Elizabeth Brandenberg, a daughter of Alpheus M. and Catherine Brandenberg, of Dayton, Ohio, near which place she was born April 25, 1837, coming to Trempealeau Village with her parents and the rest of their family in 1853. She survives her husband and is still living in Trempealeau Village, being now about 80 years of age. They had nine children, four sons and five daughters. Five of the children died in infancy. One daughter, Riza, was married to John Edward Powell of La Crosse, June 26, 1896, and died in that city Feb. 5, 1904. The children living are: S. D. Grover of Galesville, Wis.; John, residing in Trempealeau Village and Cora Kate, now Mrs. Benjamin Irvine, a resident of Everett, wash. Mrs. Grover is a faithful member of the Baptist church, and is a lady highly respected in the community.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 499 - 500
John Grover, owner of the old Grover homestead in section 26, Trempealeau Township, but now living practically retired in Trempealeau Village, was born on the Grover farm, Dec. 23, 1867, a son of Archelaus and Esther E. (Brandenburg) Grover. He was educated in the district school, which he attended during the winters only, after he was 11 or 12 years old, his services at other times being needed on the farm. When he was 15 his school days were ended and he gave his whole time to assisting his father. About two years later, the father having retired in 1885, he entered into a partnership with his brother, S. D. Grover, and they operated the farm together for two years and a half. The partnership was then dissolved, and for two years and a half more john lived on the homestead as a bachelor. Sept. 10, 1890, he married Anna Irvine, daughter of B. A. and Hannah (Ballis) Irvine, of Stillwater, Minn. Mr. Grover continued to carry on farming operations until March, 1914, at which time he took up his residence in the village. In 1901 he engaged in the breeding and selling of registered Shorthorn cattle, shipping them to many States and as far west as Montana. This business is now taken care of by his two sons, Harry and Albert, who live on the homestead. On this farm is the largest apple-bearing orchard in Trempealeau County, containing 17 acres nd 1,800 trees. Mr. Grover is one of the directors of the Galesville Elevator Exchange, and has been a stockholder in it since its organization in 1909. In politics he is a Republican, and though he has held no county offices, he has served on the school board of District No. 3, Trempealeau Township, and was one of the township supervisors one year. He and his wife have been the parents of eight children: Harry Irvine, Amy Maria, Myrtle Evelyn, Albert, Howard A., Elizabeth E., Ethel and Gertrude, whose record in brief is as follows: Harry Irvine, born Nov. 9, 1891, and now residing on the old Grover farm, married Flora Larson, daughter of Hans Larson, of Galesville, Wis., the marriage taking place March 15, 1914. He has one child, Wayne Merle, now 19 months old. Amy Maria, born June 16, 1893, is unmarried and resides at home. Myrtle Evelyn, born July 7, 1895, is unmarried and for three years has been engaged in teaching country schools. Albert, born March 24, 1897, who works in partnership with his brother Harry, is unmarried. Howard Anderson, born Sept. 27, 1899, resides at home and is attending high school. Elizabeth Esther, born Nov. 10, 1902, died on the old homestead, sept. 15, 1904. Ethel, born April 10, 1904 is attending school. Gertrude, born July 3, 1906, also attends school.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 514 - 515
Charles Henry Growt, president and general manager of the Trempealeau Mercantile Company, of Trempealeau Village, was born at St. Charles, Minn., May 10, 1867, son of Bateman and Susanna (Hartley) Growt. The father was for many years a farmer in Wisconsin and Minnesota, and is now living retired in Trempealeau Village. Charles H. Growt attended country school in his boyhood, and also spent three years in Trempealeau village school, and one term in the State Normal School at Winona, finishing his studies June 24, 1888. He then immediately entered the employ of E. J. Hankey, general merchant of Trempealeau Village, with whom he continued as clerk and assistant for 26 years, or until January, 1914, when Mr. Hankey sold the business to the Trempealeau Mercantile Company, Mr. Growt becoming president and manager. In January the same year the company was incorporated by R. H. Parker, Charles H. Growt, Mrs. Minnie Parker and Mrs. Nellie Growt. Mr. Parker is secretary and treasurer. The concern deals in general merchandise, dry goods, clothing, shoes, groceries, carpets, rugs, linoleum, etc., and the business is prosperous and steadily growing. Mr. Growt is also a stockholder in the Citizens' Bank of Trempealeau and the Western Wisconsin Telephone Company, in which latter concern his wife also holds stock. He was married, April 14, 1897, at the home of his bride, to Nellie, daughter of William, Sr., and Charlotte (Dunham) Nichols, of Caledonia Township, Trempealeau County, Wis., the ceremony being performed by the Rev. Mr. Griffith, pastor of the Trempealeau Congregational church, of which he and his wife are both members. Immediately after their marriage they began housekeeping in the Bloom residence, on West Second street, where they lived for a year and a half. They then moved to a home on East Fourth street and resided there until 1909. In the spring of 1910 Mr. Growt bought his present residence on East Third street - a comfortable and commodious house. He and his wife have on child, Glen Nicholls, who is now a student in his third year at the Trempealeau High School. Mr. Growt has served six years on the village school board, being secretary at the present time. He is not active in politics, but votes the Republican ticket. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Masonic order, belonging to Lodge No. 117 at Trempealeau, of which he is now Master, having passed all the chairs from Senior Deacon. With his wife he belongs to the Eastern Star, and is a member of Camp No. 2813, M. W. A. of Trempealeau.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 315
Olaf C. Gullord, contractor and builder of Osseo, was born on a farm four miles south of the village Sept. 4, 1881, son of Christ and Paulina Gullord. Christ Gullord, a mason by trade, was born in Norway, came to America in June, 1880, bought a farm in Sumner Township, this county, farmed here until 1911, and then went to Billings, Mont., where he died in 1914, his wife dying in 1905. Olaf C. Gullord started to learn the trade of mason from his father at the age of 14 years, and after following this trade for a number of years, gradually worked into his present business. He has been successful in his undertakings, and is regarded as a substantial and well-to-do man. he is a holder of business property in the village, having in 1915 erected a garage, 50 by 60 feet, of solid concrete, with two stories and a basement, fully equipped in every way. This garage he now operates in connection with the sale of Overland automobiles. Mr. Gullord was married April 14, 1905, to Emma Stensby, daughter of Berndt Stensby, who was born in Norway, and has farmed in Hale Township since 1886. Mr. and Mrs. Gullord have two children, Franzel and Lester.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 613 - 614
Martin Gunderson, Jr., who owns and operates the old Gunderson farm in Hale Township, was born April 1, 1882, son of Martin, Sr., and Olea (Olson) Gunderson. The father was born in Soler, Norway, in 1834, and came to the United States in 1862, settling in Blair, Trempealeau County, Wis., where he remained two years. In 1864 he homesteaded a farm in section 6, range 8 west, township 22 north, Hale Township, and devoted the rest of his active period to its cultivation, his death taking place in October, 1881. His wife Olea, who was born in Soler, Norway, in 1842, after her husband's death contracted a second marriage with Brede Ramstad of section 1, Chimney Rock Township. She died Jan. 8, 1906, her second husband surviving her and being still a resident of his farm in Chimney Rock. Martin Gunderson, Sr., was an industrious, capable man and during his career as an agriculturist in Hale Township did much to improve his farm. He is still remembered by the older residents of the township, among whom he had many friends. Martin Gunderson, Jr., who was the youngest of eight children, acquired a good knowledge of agriculture and on the death of his mother purchased the old homestead, which he has since carried on with profitable results, doing general farming. His two-story frame residence, having seven rooms and basement, was erected in 1910 and is a neat and substantial dwelling. In 1915 he built a frame barn, with basement of cement blocks, 36 by 70 by 16 feet above basement, the latter having cement floors. It is equipped with steel stanchions and other necessary or useful appliances, furnishing ample accommodations for his stock. Dec. 25, 1908, Martin Gunderson, Jr., was united in marriage with Amelia Anderson, who was born in Whitehall, Wis., Feb. 20, 1872, being the eldest of the 12 children of Gilbert and Mary (Matson) Anderson. Her father, who was born in Norway in 1849, came to this country in 1860 and engaged in farming in Rosko's Coolie, Hale Township. He died March 8, 1911. Her mother, born in Soler, Norway, Jan. 19, 1854, is now a resident of Eleva, this county. Mr. and Mrs. Gunderson have no children of their own, but are rearing a son of Mrs. Gunderson's brother, Otto, Roy Anderson, who was born Nov. 20, 1903.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," pages 749 - 750
Samuel Gunderson, proprietor of the Pleasant Hill Farm, section 22, Sumner Township, is a native of this county, has spent his life on his present farm, and has served his township as clerk since 1910 and his school district as clerk and director. He was born Sept. 12, 1875, was reared to agricultural pursuits, attended the district school, and in 1900 rented the home farm, which he bought in 1906. In carrying on general agricultural operations he has been very successful. By his wife, Hannah Amundson, whom he married May 2, 1906, he has five children: Helen, born March 27, 1907, died Aug. 12, 1917; Thomas, born Dec. 3, 1908; Ruth, born May 30, 1912; Sigvald, born Nov. 29, 1915, and Helen Almira, born July 15, 1917. Mrs. Gunderson was born in Sumner Township Aug. 31, 1875, daughter of Halvor and Ragnild (Hougen) Amundson, who came to America in 1869, located in Dane County, Wis., and three years later settled in Sumner Township, this county, the father, who was born in 1830, dying in 1907, and the mother, who was born in 1835, dying in 1913.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917," page 666
Torger Gunderson came to Trempealeau County in 1874, and located on a farm of 160 acres in section 22, Sumner Township, which he operated until 1900, when he rented it to his son Samuel, the fourth of his 12 children (who purchased it in 1906), and retired to a farm of 120 acres in section 28, in the same township, where he now lives. He was born in Norway, Feb. 20, 1846, came to America in 1869, and lived in Vernon County, this State, five years before coming to this county. His wife, Randi Simenson, was born in Norway, Dec. 12, 1846.
-Transcribed from the "History of Trempealeau County Wisconsin, 1917", page 666
The WIGenWeb Project logo was designed and provided by Debbie Barrett.
DISCLAIMER: No claim is made to the copyrights of the individual submitters. The contents of this website may be used for personal use only by individuals researching their own ancestry. Commercial use of this information for profit is strictly prohibited without prior permission of the owners. Other genealogical websites may link to this website; however, permission is not granted to duplicate any of the contents. Anyone contributing material for posting does so in recognition of its free, non-commercial distribution, as well as the responsibility to assure that no copyright is violated by the submission. This website and its coordinator are not responsible for donations of copyrighted material where explicit written permission has not been granted for use.
Copyright © 2000 - 2012
All Rights Reserved
This website was established on 31 Oct 2000